Day 9: 2013/8/23
After 3 days in a row of failing in some manner, I worry that I'm either
not going to succeed, or have backtracked quite a ways, or something else
is going to go wrong. Still, I think that's mostly empty worry as I don't
really think I've lost much -- I just haven't succeeded wildly, either.
Today's naps seemed OK, though I had to adjust for social reasons more
than I wished I could. It's early "night time" at the moment, and I feel
pretty tired. I hope tonight's not as bad as the last few.
I think I've discovered the answer to that, though, and it is something I
knew right from the get-go but that I forgot when the fog of deprivation
made my mind turn to fluff: find something to do that wakes you up.
Something that forces your mind to turn on. A new book or game, exercise,
whatever.
So right now I'm pretty tired, but I've also been doing the same thing
for a couple of hours, so I think I just need to change things up a bit.
Yes, I realize that this still means I'm technically sleep deprived, and
that 'forcing myself to stay awake' is something I shouldn't have to do
steady-state or the whole polyphasic sleep thing must be bunk. I figure
I'm still within the 2 weeks, so anything goes. I'll worry about steady-state later on.
Later edit: At this point, I believe I can say that Wozniak at least is
not correct. He states that it should be impossible to entrain the brain
to undergo REM in less than half an hour. If that's the case, then
barring 3 accidents of 2 hours each total (say 1 REM cycle each?), I've
had no REM for 9 days. I'm pretty sure I'd be seeing pink fluffy
elephants prancing around the room at that point. I guess I'm no expert, though.
No comments:
Post a Comment